You are here

Joint Committee on Benefits Administration


Co-Chair - Luisa Liberatore, Post-Secondary Employers' Association
Co-Chair - Monica Staff, Federation of Post-Secondary Educators of BC
Employer Representative - Brenda McKay, Vancouver Island University
Employer Representative - Catherine Dube, Kwantlen Polytechnic University
Employer Representative - Stacey Matthews, Selkirk College
Union Representative - Marceline Lamarche, BC Government and Service Employee's Union
Union Representative - Anna Atkinson, Vancouver Island University
Union Representative - Cam McRobb, Okanagan College


The Joint Committee on Benefits has a mandate to undertake tasks related to health and welfare benefits and disability benefits including:

  1. Comparison and analysis of contract administration and costs, using criteria developed by the committee.
  2. Monitoring carrier performance including receiving reports from the plan administrator(s).
  3. Reviewing the cost effectiveness and quality of benefit delivery, service, and administration by carriers, including access issues.
  4. Tendering of contracts.
  5. Training for local Joint Rehabilitation Committees.

Participation in the existing Benefits User Group will continue. Participation is open to institutions that are not currently members of the Benefits User Group.

Further Information

Please see Articles 9.1 and 9.3 of the Faculty Common Agreements (BCGEU or FPSE) for further information.